HOME NEWS FORUM LINKS DOWNLOAD FAQ CONTACT
  
   Register now    Login
Search
Login
Username:

Password:


Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu


Home > FAQ > Technical Help and Support FAQ

Are you using Norton Personal Firewall or somethi... [Technical Help and Support]
Requested and Answered by Ron B on 06-Feb-2005 00:11 (973 reads)
Are you using Norton Personal Firewall or something similar?
You may be able to view the forum but will not be able to contribute. When you press the 'submit' button your contribution will just disappear! There are two solutions
1.
2. This is what you need to do to permit your Firewall to allow you to get through to the site as an active participant...

(How to pass referer information to specific Web pages in Norton Internet Security or Norton Personal Firewall 2003.)

When you click a Web page, your browser notes the current page that you are on and sends that information to the server of the new Web page. This way, the server for the new Web page knows the last Web page that you viewed. For example, if you are on www.symantec.com and click www.microsoft.com, the browser sends www.microsoft.com the information that you are currently viewing www.symantec.com. If you block referer information, the server of the page you are requesting to see does not know what page you saw last. By default, Norton Internet Security (NIS) and Norton Personal Firewall (NPF) blocks this information. However, some Web pages require this information before allowing you to view the page. If you need to allow referer information to pass to a particular Web page, you must create a rule for it.

To create a rule:
1. Open NIS or NPF.
2. Click Options.
3. Click Internet Security or Personal Firewall. This step is not always needed.
4. Click the Web Content tab.
5. Click Add Site. A new site/domain box appears. Enter the name of the site that you want to receive the referer information and click OK. In this worked example, it will be www.symantec.com. (BUT YOU WILL NEED TO USE www.biblebase.com.)
6. The site name appears in the left frame of the Options window.
7. Click the name of the new site.
8. Click the Global Settings tab.
9. In the "Information about visited sites" section, uncheck "Use default settings".
10. Click Permit.
11. Click OK to close the Options window.

0 Comment(s) Print Q&A Send Q&A Submit answer





Copyright © 2004-2007by Biblebase.com  |   |  Design by 7dana.com